compasspnt

Diamond Forever

Lead

Nov 19 13 10:36 AM

Tags : :

Simply.  The Best.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/therecord/2011/02/28/134134763/the-telecaster-still-wailin-at-60

I contend it would now be 61.5 years old by name, I thought it was Feb '52 that the first one rolled out with the actual Telecaster (not Broadcaster, not "nothing") name on it.

BTW, In that article, Jimmy is wearing my jacket I sent him in the Yardbirds video!

Quote    Reply   

wireline

Aqua Marine

#1 [url]

Nov 19 13 10:49 AM

Couple of the videos are no longer available...but yea, if you can't get it done with a tele, it probably, ain't worth doing.

Cool jacket. Betting you still fit in it...

Ken Morgan

Please...Give It A Rest

Quote    Reply   

philgrab

Tin Man

#3 [url]

Nov 19 13 11:24 AM

I've been enjoying my 2011 60th anniversary for a couple of years now and in recent years the telecaster has definitely had a resurgence. I see Les Pauls and Strats in large numbers hanging on the walls of all the GCs here in LA but try to find a good tele, they go fast right now.

Quote    Reply   

gtoledo3

Aqua Marine

#4 [url]

Nov 19 13 11:52 AM

My first "full size" guitar, a fairly man-handled '68 Tele:

...the routing and refinish was done prior to me. But, it turned out to be a good place for a humbucker.

It's real nice sounding, and the pickups from that era have a particular sound that seems more "rock".

Quote    Reply   

ssltech

Aqua Marine

#7 [url]

Nov 19 13 2:04 PM

weedywet
wireline
...but yea, if you can't get it done with a tele, it probably, ain't worth doing.

tell it to The Byrds

You sir... truly ARE mister incredible!

Quote    Reply   

wireline

Aqua Marine

#8 [url]

Nov 19 13 2:12 PM

ssltech
weedywet
wireline
...but yea, if you can't get it done with a tele, it probably, ain't worth doing.

tell it to The Byrds

You sir... truly ARE mister incredible!

He was just out on another bender

Ken Morgan

Please...Give It A Rest

Quote    Reply   

dominick