barkleymckay

Platinum Blonde

Lead

Apr 3 15 7:00 AM

Tags : :

As promised to Cliff, here is my little photo essay of the extension and building work we had here at our studio at home. The build spanned 4 months.
I've been recording here at home professionally since at least 2006 - but have always wanted to get the piano and noise making stuff all consolidated downstairs in the basement.
My agenda is to have a facility that can manage an acoustic jazz quartet - all with sight lines - and somewhat isolated from the neighbour.

Lots of mud to remove. father and son team Rich and Richard:

Quote    Reply   

barkleymckay

Platinum Blonde

#3 [url]

Apr 3 15 7:08 AM

Intererior plasterboard and wiring done. Floor done. All insulated. The floor is timber with an airgap of about a foot before the cement to allow for aircirculation etc. A lot of reinforcement had to be made on one end to accomodate the piano.

We kept the original patio doors in place. Drum Iso booth!

Quote    Reply   

barkleymckay

Platinum Blonde

#4 [url]

Apr 3 15 7:12 AM

Roof goes on and interior plastering done.
What was interesting was that as the build progressed, the room seemed to appear small at one stage, then seemed bigger again when the plastering was done.
It is a 6 metre by 3 metre room.

I drew the short straw and did the painting...

Quote    Reply   

barkleymckay

Platinum Blonde

#6 [url]

Apr 3 15 7:22 AM

Just the week prior to the piano move, the inner room project started. The agenda was to try and reduce transmission through the party wall to the neighbours, so a false wall with airgap made. Soundblock plasterboard and green glue. New ceiling put in with hefty insulation. It is not perfect, but if I can get an improvement I'm happy. We keep the sessions in daylight hours.

Quote    Reply   

barkleymckay

Platinum Blonde

#7 [url]

Apr 3 15 7:26 AM

Piano moved in Friday 13th Feb. Session the following Wednesday 18th.