soapfoot

Ruby Baby

#1 [url]

Dec 31 15 3:04 PM

thank you for the PSA. I remember seeing that page some years ago and cringing at the thought that even one person might do that.

brad allen williams

Quote    Reply   

bockaudio

Platinum Blonde

#2 [url]

Dec 31 15 3:11 PM

I understand that in 1980 the fashion for vacuum tubes was gone and this seemed like a logical solution (sorry even then it wasn't). Hell, there was a company that took Neumann transformers OUT of U47's and put off the shelf Jensens in, and charged a premium for it!

Quote    Reply   

Mickeyrouse

Silverado

#3 [url]

Jan 1 16 4:10 PM

Not that I'm likely to ever be confronted with such a problem, but which is the "Not" procedure-
The fet conversion?
The nuvistor conversion?
Peter Drefahl's VF14 rejuvenation?
Incidentally, I have no experience regarding Peter's U47 service, but I purchased one of his power supplies for my C12A about 12 years ago. It has been extremely reliable and stable. I also sent that C12A to him for routine service a couple years ago and am quite pleased with his work.
Incidentally, could you point me to a source of comparison of the C12 and the C12A? I know they have the same capsules, and C12 is tubed by a glass tube while a C12A uses a 7586 nuvistor. Transformers? Basic circuit concepts? Power supply requirements? Production runs, etc.- inquiring minds want to know.

Quote    Reply   

bockaudio

Platinum Blonde

#4 [url]

Jan 1 16 7:59 PM

The fet conversion is the primary "NOT".
Oddly the Nuvistor, sanctioned by Neumann, didn't really seem to be thought through. Tube/transformer mismatch = loss of bass. We do not advise.
I have no experience with Drefahl so no comment either way.
BTW a power supply should last and be reliable!
C12 questions posted in new thread.

Quote    Reply   

soapfoot

Ruby Baby

#5 [url]

Jan 2 16 9:43 AM

Strangely, I've heard a U47 or two with the nuvistor that didn't sound that bad. It does roll off the bass, as you mentioned.