iris

Gold Finger

Lead

Sep 22 16 6:40 PM

Tags : : , , ,

Hi all. I'm in WAY over my head here, particularly with the acoustic treatment bits.
But the client is a 27 year friend... and wants me to run point. I need the work!
It's all on me... from treatments right up to designing, purchasing, and running the venue sound.
The whole building is 78' long x 44' wide, with antique hardwood flooring.
It's all mostly reflective surface at this point, with approx 3sec reverberation, and some pitch specific flange style slapback(s).

I'm in process of laser measuring and plotting the layout, so I have an accurate blueprint.
I'm not a pro with this... but I know way more then the client... I'm a quick study... and I have access to y'all!
So I'm not panicking yet.
First burning question...

What the heck do I charge for this?

I need an hourly rate to hit the client with. Can anybody clue me what a real experienced pro would charge for this
type of consultation/labor per hour? I'm thinking to make my rate approx 1/4 of what a pro would charge,
study my ass off... and learn as I go.
Does anybody know what an average consulting fee is (ballpark is fine) for this type of work?

Music will be everything from folk artists up to full reggae bands, and even DJ's.
Options include temporary carpet as needed, permanent absorption and diffusion panels, flexible curtaining,
ceiling treatment, etc. Client wants to keep the vibe "elegant" if possible. It will also be a cafe - restaurant. 

Thanks for reading this far. Any and all help greatly appreciated! Cheers!
Nicholas
Quote    Reply   

barry hufker

Diamond Forever

#1 [url]

Sep 23 16 1:36 AM