kodebode

New Forum Friend

Lead

Oct 15 16 6:11 AM

Tags : :

My ask ? : What software EQ would you recommend for this special(described below) and other general EQ purposes, especially if its free or low cost, which will not color or smear the audio?

I'm a serious hobbyist wanting to hone my skills at home to get to a good standard and hopefully achieve some professional success in the future.

Having done all I can with room treatment, and positioning, I thought it good to augment my monitoring chain with some low shelf cuts, to tame a bit more the very lowest frequencies so when I occasionaly listen loud, the room reflections especially at the low end do not color the sound.

My DAW is Reaper on Windows 10 which I run @ 96Khz.

My monitors are Alesis M1 MK2's Active, which I have blocked ports and placed to "perfection" i.e to get the best quality I can from these. Had them for 14 years so I know them well.

Audio interface is EMU 0404 USB, 

The EQ I have used to attempt this for a while (over a year) is the parametric EQ - ReaEQ, which comes with Reaper, and I insert this in a Monitoring FX Chain, which is only active for "monitoring" and does not get recorded when I mix down.

I recently discovered that from listening intermittently over a few months, I preferred the non EQ version - like the EQ, no matter how subtle the settings I applied - and I was using only one band for a low self at 43 hz, it added what appears to sound like a "chorus" to the stereo track. 

Rather than just tightening up the low end, it added an indistinct smear to the stereo audio track.

Most of the use of my home studio, at this time is as a high quality listening station, listening to CD's or high quality streaming which I "pass" through Reaper.

What software EQ would you recommend for this special and other general EQ purposes, especially if its free or low cost, which will not color or smear the audio?